STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Upgrade your RAM from ST to Falcon.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23345
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by exxos »

Thanks to @Steve for trying this out and sending me these images!

This new upgrade (not yet available) allows 4MB to be fitted to a older STM type machine.

TOP2.jpg
TOP2.jpg (485.84 KiB) Viewed 3909 times
MMU TOP.jpg
MMU TOP.jpg (467.04 KiB) Viewed 3909 times
TOP1.jpg
TOP1.jpg (458.06 KiB) Viewed 3909 times
MMU REAR.jpg
MMU REAR.jpg (505.39 KiB) Viewed 3909 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 900
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by troed »

Fantastic! Will definitely replace my piggyback :D
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5941
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by PhilC »

Very nice job @Steve How's the clearance with the keyboard?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
Steve
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by Steve »

@PhilC plenty of space

PXL_20210816_095343158.jpg
PXL_20210816_095343158.jpg (234.44 KiB) Viewed 3857 times
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23345
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by exxos »

Is that in the sockets as well @Steve ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Steve
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by Steve »

I didn't socket it just soldered right in
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5941
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by PhilC »

Steve wrote: Mon Aug 16, 2021 11:11 am I didn't socket it just soldered right in
Thats why I asked, I don't think there is clearance for sockets as well.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
stephen_usher
Posts: 5343
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by stephen_usher »

There looks to be at least one socket there.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.
Steve
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by Steve »

They're soldered on to precision headers on the motherboard. You would only want to socket it if you're planning on removing the ram board for different reasons I'm not sure?
Steve
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: STM 4MB RAM UPGRADE

Post by Steve »

Does this help?

PXL_20210816_131815735.jpg
PXL_20210816_131815735.jpg (286.6 KiB) Viewed 3817 times
Post Reply

Return to “RAM UPGRADES”