FALCON 030 RTC (2017 Batch)

Current solutions and designs.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 18962
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

FALCON 030 RTC (2017 Batch)

Post by exxos »

IMG_1646.JPG
IMG_1646.JPG (326.19 KiB) Viewed 11500 times
IMG_1645.JPG
IMG_1645.JPG (400.76 KiB) Viewed 11500 times

This RTC IC is basically the same as the Falcon one, only this uses a external battery. This way, it is easy to change the battery than having to worry about de-soldering the NVRAM in a few years time.

The module itself is a tiny fraction higher than the original NVRAM chip and should fit under the metal shielding as normal (though I have not tested that it will).

Store Link.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/#0089
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 18962
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FALCON 030 RTC

Post by exxos »

ADDENDUM: (2017 Batch)

A fault has been found where the Falcon does not boot after setting the time or date in control panel. Oddly the time and date does actually write correctly to the NVRAM, but the Falcon for some reason is unable to boot afterwards. I'm not really sure why this happens.

Solution is thankfully easy and just requires a decoupling capacitor soldered on the back the motherboard is shown in the image below.

A value of 100nF (0.1uF) or 220nF (0.22uF) is recommended. Higher Values will also likely work also.

mod.jpg
mod.jpg (241.59 KiB) Viewed 11423 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: FALCON 030 RTC

Post by kodak80 »

Is this modification needed on all Falcons? I am yet to try installing the one I purchased. How many people have had issues?
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 18962
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FALCON 030 RTC

Post by exxos »

kodak80 wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:22 pm Is this modification needed on all Falcons? I am yet to try installing the one I purchased. How many people have had issues?
I only just found the issue.. so 1 :lol:

I would suggest adding the cap as its bound to cause issues on other machines. Oddly on my own falcon it did not, but on this falcon in for repair, it does...

The original NVRAM (internal battery) does not seem affected.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: FALCON 030 RTC

Post by kodak80 »

Hi Chris
Just wondering what voltage the capacitor was you used? Would 220nf 35v work?
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 18962
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FALCON 030 RTC

Post by exxos »

kodak80 wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:37 am Hi Chris
Just wondering what voltage the capacitor was you used? Would 220nf 35v work?
Its 5V rail, so anything over 10V is good.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: FALCON 030 RTC

Post by kodak80 »

exxos wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:42 am
kodak80 wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:37 am Hi Chris
Just wondering what voltage the capacitor was you used? Would 220nf 35v work?
Its 5V rail, so anything over 10V is good.
Also, which pin has the positive lead from the capacitor?
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 18962
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FALCON 030 RTC

Post by exxos »

kodak80 wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:17 am Also, which pin has the positive lead from the capacitor?
100nF-220nF most likely going to be ceramics, or should be, so it does not matter of which way around it goes on.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: FALCON 030 RTC

Post by kodak80 »

Finally removed my dead Dallas RTC and have fitted a low profile IC socket. I have installed the Exxos RTC but I have the same issue that Gazak28 had. Once I set the date and time, then turn the Falcon off and unplug the power lead for a short while, the Falcon will not boot up when I reconnect the power lead and turn it on. I have added one of the resistors you sent to Gazak28 but this does not fix the no boot issue. I soldered it on the top of the RTC board around the edge as I did not want to solder it under the motherboard on the new IC socket. The only way to get the Falcon to boot is to remove the RTC battery and power off the Falcon.

Gazak28 has now replaced his Exxos RTCs with socketed Dallas replacements and his 2 Falcon's are now working fine. They boot and the time is kept whilst off.

Any other thoughts on fixing this would be appreciated.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 18962
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FALCON 030 RTC

Post by exxos »

I assume you are resetting the RTC and using the RTC software to set it as listed on the forum? some control panels may not work with every RTC IC as someone else found the other day.

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/viewt ... ?f=25&t=30
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “RTC (Real time clock)”