TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

lioneer
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2022 12:47 pm

TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by lioneer »

Hello, i have problem overclocking my TF1260 with 68060 rev.6. I can set maximum 75MHz, over this value card/amiga froze. But most users can use rev.6 with 80 or maximum 100MHz. Where is problem?

Thank you
Higgy
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:05 pm
Location: Somerset

Re: TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by Higgy »

Not every 060 is going to be the same, only 50Mhz (or 60 if you're really lucky) is guaranteed on full 060s. 75Mhz is still a good overclock.
Each 1200 is different, motherboard board rev, timing fixes, caps etc.
Also the PSU, is it a 4.5amp on the 5v line. Has it been recapped etc.
Do you have cooling on the CPU? Do you have a high ambient temp in your location?
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24044
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by exxos »

As there are no Amiga people online currently I will give some general information meanwhile.. I'm not an expert on Amiga or TF cards but I have tested a LOT of 060 CPU's over the years.

Firstly, are you sure you have a genuine rev6 ? REV1-REV4 will max out generally at about 75MHz.

Also overclocking is very hardware dependent. Those CPU's are 50MHz parts so you already got a overclock of 75MHz. Some CPU's can push further but not all.

You do of course need to do the usual sensible things like have a heatsink and fan on the CPU. You don't give any specifics of how you have your board set up.

I would also check the other threads as other people have mentioned overclocking and various firmware updates.

https://exxosforum.co.uk/forum/search.p ... %5B0%5D=65
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
lioneer
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2022 12:47 pm

Re: TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by lioneer »

yes, i bought rev6 from my friend. WhichAmiga told me that CPU is 68060 rev 6. So i thing is not fake... But over 75MHz i can't go. Maybe problem is with revision of my TF1260... i don't know. I will try CPU in another card or in A4000 BFG9060.
foft
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2022 12:20 pm

Re: TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by foft »

Might be the RAM too, I've found them quite sensitive to changing that.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5396
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by terriblefire »

I've never seen a TF1260 work at 75Mhz. 94 is the most likely to work and try some phase options... PHASE=? where ?=0 to 3
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by alenppc »

terriblefire wrote: Mon Dec 26, 2022 9:40 pm I've never seen a TF1260 work at 75Mhz. 94 is the most likely to work and try some phase options... PHASE=? where ?=0 to 3
He's probably running the Beta firmware, and that's why it caps out at 75. Or a wrong version of the cpuspeed command.
lioneer
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2022 12:47 pm

Re: TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by lioneer »

I have firmware 999. So, where can i download cpuspeed tool, but another version? And is somewhere manual for this tool? (for phase option explanation, etc).
Thank you

alenppc wrote: Tue Dec 27, 2022 2:30 am
terriblefire wrote: Mon Dec 26, 2022 9:40 pm I've never seen a TF1260 work at 75Mhz. 94 is the most likely to work and try some phase options... PHASE=? where ?=0 to 3
He's probably running the Beta firmware, and that's why it caps out at 75. Or a wrong version of the cpuspeed command.
User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by supaduper »

If you have the means to re-flash firmware to the TF1260, then you will benefit from updating to the last Alpha release

Link to thread below
https://exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewtopi ... =75&t=4947
alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: TF1260 overclocking with rev.6

Post by alenppc »

lioneer wrote: Tue Dec 27, 2022 11:21 am I have firmware 999. So, where can i download cpuspeed tool, but another version? And is somewhere manual for this tool? (for phase option explanation, etc).
Who is your builder? They should provide you with all this info.
Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”